03. October 2008

Klangraum Krems Minoritenkirche

Agra-Dharma Makigami Koichi, Ikue Mori, Sylvie Courvoisier

Makigami Koichi: voice, theremin; Ikue Mori: electronics; Sylvie Courvoisier: piano

In Sanskrit “Agra-Dharma” describes the highest form of wisdom—a demanding title for the coalition of three renowned improvisers/real-time composers. Indeed, Koichi Makigami, Ikue Mori and Syvie Courvoisier do perform on the highest level possible: their ingenuity, their reaction rate and versatility, their subtlety and sophistication, and their play’s complexity in particular justify their name. The bar is high, yet it will easily be crossed. “Music by Agra-Dharma is new and quite original, its edges are sharp like razorblades, its sounds partly remind of thousands of dancing needles, of thundering power rising from yawning abysses, and then again of mystic fluorescence and calmness going along a strange form of motion”, the critic Henning Bolte remarks.

The Tokyo avant-garde vocalist Makigami Koichi is deeply rooted in the theatre scene. For a long time, he was working with Richard Foreman and was a member of the innovative groups Ulysses and Hikashu. Concerts with David Moss, Phil Minton, Keiji Haino, Lauren Newton and many others. Ikue Mori left Tokyo for New York in 1977 where she, as a drummer, founded the legendary no-wave band DNA together with Arto Lindsay. Later on, she discovered the laptop as a musical instrument and as a means to visual design. Collaborations with John Zorn, Zeena Parkins, Kim Gordon, etc. Pianist Sylvie Courvoisier moved from Lausanne to New York in 1998 where she played, among others, with musicians like Tim Berne, Mark Feldman, Fred Frith, and John Zorn.

© Agra Dharma

© Agra Dharma